# Juneteenth Coalition "Freedom of Emancipation Celebration" June 07-19, 2008

## From Slavery to Education to Achievement

### Solomon M. Coles Awardees 2008

### **National Award Recipient**

Dr. Leonard E. Lawrence M.D.

Past National President – National Medical Association; Dean of Students Emeritus, University of Texas Medical Center- San Antonio; Professor – Psychiatry

#### **Health Care Professionals**

Dr. Tone Johnson M.D., -- Longest Medical Practice in Corpus Christi Mrs. Verdie Chatman, LVN- Longest Serving LVN

Mrs. Jewel Wilson, RN - Early Registered Nurse / Supervisor at Spohn Hospital

Lt. Angela Stalworth M.D., Health Services Naval Air Station, Kingsville, TX

Mrs. Maxine Galloway, Hospice Director - Nurses on Wheels

Mr. Anthony Carter, First Nuclear Medicine Technologist - Spohn Shoreline

Mr. Steven Douchette, First Nuclear Medicine Technologist - Spohn Memorial

Mr. & Mrs. Edwards (Violet), Owners, Rising Star Home Health Care

Rev. Ibotha Battle, Early Registered Nurse Kingsville, TX Ms. Dorris Barry, LVN, Riviera, TX

Mrs. Barbara Avery, Retired Registered Nurse-Corpus Christi

#### **Retired Educators/ Mentors**

Mrs. AlClair Pleasant, Retired, Superior Educator

Mrs. Ruby Melton, Retired Music Teacher and Community Volunteer

Rev. Claude Axel, Assistant Principal, Roy Miller High School & Pastor of Mt. Pilgrim Baptist Church and Community Volunteer

#### **Community Volunteers**

Mr. Guy Nickleson, Founder of LEAD First- Youth Outreach

Mr. Robert Jones, Mass Communication, Community Outreach Volunteer

#### **Contact Information**

Mrs. Hannah Carter
Juneteenth Coalition 2008 Chair

Dr. Gloria Scott Juneteenth Coalition 2008 Vice-Chair

Phone: 361 887 9655 or 361 815 3099 Fax: 361 887 9635

Email: juneteenthcoalition5@hotmail.com